2010 Club Championships

The Club Road titles were held on Saturday around the Pound Creek circuit in typical wintery conditions.  Fortunately the really rough weather did not strike but the riders had to battle a blustery north wind.  The senior title went to the in form rider Tom Debenham whilst the junior title went to Thomas McFarlane.

The senior field saw 12 riders start the title event whilst another 5 riders raced a “B” grade scratch race over 2 laps.  In the title race over 2 laps the first lap saw several riders lose contact with the bunch over the climb past the Golf course.  Nine riders enjoyed the downwind run past the finish line at the end of the first lap.  However the steady pace over the climbs and into the wind on the second lap saw Peter Hollins lose contact.  Peter has been working at the desal plant and has lost his training opportunities and hence the form has slipped away.  Another rider missing on Saturday was Ronald Purtle who was suffering from a winter ailment.  In past races around the circuit he has been a dominant figure at the race end.  The 8 rider bunch lined up for the sprint and Tom Debenham showed his recent form and last weekends win were well deserved by claiming the win and Club Champion  title.  Next home were former winners David McFarlane and Tony Smith for 2nd and 3rd respectively.  In 4th place was the consistent Tony Clark ahead of Paul Taranto, Kevin Feely, Elliot Gin and Clem Fries.

In the B grade race the 5 starters stayed together until the Golf course hill at which point Matt Dudley lost the bunch.  Neil White, Rod Cheyne and Malcolm Gin were the driving force and Rod McCall was determinedly sticking with the bunch.  After 2 laps it was still a bunch of 4 lining up for the sprint.  Neil White managed to edge in front of Malcolm Gin for the win whilst Rod McCall managed to come over Rod for the 3rd place.

The Junior title saw Thomas McFarlane, Mitch Gin and Matt Minogue race out and back on the Pound Creek road over 12 kms.  The run out to the turn was tough as it was into the wind and uphill at the last kilometre.  This steeper section saw Mitch put the pace on and dislodge Matt but Thomas was quickly onto his wheel.  With a tailwind run back to the finish it was down to a sprint and Thomas scored a narrow win to claim the title from Mitch and Matt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.