Outtrim 19th July 2014

Finally, Leongatha Cycling Club members had an opportunity to race. After two consecutive cancellations due to inclement weather, conditions were favorable enough to allow the running of the annual Club Individual Time Trial and Hill Climb titles. A few light showers early on ensured the roads were wet and riders had to work hard to stay warm, but the winds were light and all those riders who turned up were ready to tackle the two separate races ahead of them.

Five juniors and 15 senior riders entered the races and were sent off at 1 minute intervals for the first event, the Individual Time Trial. Known affectionately as the “race of truth”, the time trial is a tough event and there is nowhere to hide as there is in a normal road race.


“Grace took a solid win…”

Junior riders headed out to the turn at Hudsons Rd and back, a total distance of about 12km. Grace McLean took a solid win from Bernadette Fitzgerald, with Matt Winchester, returning from a break from racing, rounding out the podium in third. Oliver McLean and Thomas Fitzgerald rode well also, both averaging around 25km per hour.

The senior riders were lead off by elite hand-cyclist and Korumburra resident, Alex Welsh. A lot of Alex’s racing consists of time trials so he was comfortable with the format.


“Thomas, who has been working hard on his time trialling, finished second.”

The flat course also suited him and he set a very good pace out to the turn at Leongatha Sth. Brett Franklin started at the end of the field but ended up taking the title in a very quick time of 30:52 for the 20.5 km course. Thomas Macfarlane, who has been working hard on his time trialling, finished second, 54 seconds behind Brett. Kevin Feely always rides a good time trial and today was no exception, finishing third in 33:21. Dave Supple and Tony Clark weren’t far off the pace to take 4th and 5th places.

After a short break, most riders saddled up again for the hill climb race up Mt. Misery. Once again the juniors went first, riding to the saddle, and again it was Grace who took the win, this time by only a few seconds, over Bernadette. Thomas took third place this time with Oliver fourth.


Senior riders tackle the 3Km’s to the top of Mt.Misery.

The senior riders were keen to get going as the temperature had dropped. The pace at the start was steady and the group was together around the first corner before Ron Purtle decided it needed to be quicker. This saw a split and it was the young brigade of Austin Timmins, Will Lumby, Thomas Macfarlane and Harrison McLean who went to the front. Only Ron and Dave Supple could follow. Heading towards the saddle, Harrison and Ron fell back and Dave was dropped but recovered. The steep left hand corner through the cutting just before the finish is always decisive but it couldn’t split the trio of teenagers. A sprint finish saw Thomas take a narrow win from Austin and Will.

Last weekend, Will Lumby, Thomas Macfarlane and Austin Timmins all travelled to Eildon for a 3 stage tour event for junior riders. All boys rode very strongly with Will taking out the U17 B Grade event after winning the final two road race stages. Austin finshed in 5th place overall in the U15 event and Thomas 8th in U17. All boys are training hard for the upcoming State Championships in Wangaratta.

Next weeks racing is at Korrine for the Sprag Trophy.

report by Tony Clark

Place Senior ITT  20.5Km Time Av. Speed
1 Brett Franklin 30mins 52s           39.85
2 Thomas McFarlane 31mins 46s           38.72
3 Kevin Feely 33mins 21s           36.88
4 David Supple 33mins 27s           36.77
5 Tony Clark 33mins 39s           36.55
6 Austin Timmins 34mins 08s           36.04
7 Ronald Purtle 34mins 27s           35.70
8 Morgan Barnes 35mins 49s           34.34
9 Will Lumby 36mins 00s           34.17
10 Harrison McLean 36mins 11s           33.99
11 Mark Bensley 36mins 16s           33.92
12 Brad Bouquet 36mins 36s           33.61
13 Damien King 37mins 25s           32.87
14 Alex Welsh 38mins 11s           32.21
15 Michael Park 39mins 40s           31.01
Place Junior ITT 12.6Km Time Av. Speed
1 Grace McLean 24min 11s           31.26
2 Bernadette Fitzgerald 25min 35s           29.55
3 Matt Winchester 25min 53s           29.21
4 Oliver McLean 28min 24s           26.62
5 Thomas Fitzgerald 31min 00s           24.39
Place Senior hillclimb  3.3Km Time Av. Speed
1 Thomas McFarlane 9mins 59s           19.83
2 Austin Timmins 9mins 59s           19.83
3 Will Lumby 9mins 59s           19.83
4 David Supple n/a                 –
5 Ronald Purtle 10mins 44s           18.45
6 Harrison McLean 11mins 04s           17.89
7 Kevin Feely n/a                 –
8 Tony Clark n/a                 –
9 Brad Bouquet 11mins 53s           16.66
10 Mark Bensley 12mins 03s           16.43
11 Michael Park 12mins 03s           16.43
Place Junior hillclimb 2.2Km Time Av. Speed
1 Grace McLean 9min 16s           14.24
2 Bernadette Fitzgerald 9min 19s           14.24
3 Thomas Fitzgerald 10min 27s           12.63
4 Oliver McLean 10min 46s           12.26


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.