Pound Creek 5th April 2014


‘B’ grade commence 2 laps of the Pound Creek circuit. (40 event images)

The 2014 road season commenced with racing at Pound Creek on Saturday with beautiful autumn weather making it easy to put some distance under the bike.  The day saw seven riders front up for their first race on the road with the club.  It was also pleasing to see Rod Cheyne back racing after his altercation with an on road stick last season.  The senior riders were split into 3 groups for graded scratch races of 2 laps of the Pound creek circuit.  This will give the handicapper an idea of how to grade the riders over coming weeks.


“In A grade there were 5 riders.”

In A grade there were 5 riders.  The group stayed together on the first lap but the second lap over the hills, especially the golf course hill at Leongatha South saw Ronald Purtle and Thomas McFarlane open a break on Lachlan Matthews and Tony Clark with Chris Rowe a bit further adrift.  In the dash to the line it was a win to Thomas from Ronald. Lachlan Matthews outsprinted Tony for third.

The handicapper placed 11 riders into B grade with a couple of juniors on their first outing perhaps being put under pressure. Will Lumby, David Supple and Rod Cheyne attacked on the second lap and created the break over the hills and had a clear gap for the run down Pound Creek Rd.  In the end the young legs of Will Lumby were too good for the more senior riders with David taking second and Rod third.  Mark Bensley found himself stuck between the break and the bunch but rode strongly over the last 6km to take 4th. David Lumby won the bunch sprint for 5th ahead of Neil White, Steve Wilson and Gary Campbell.  Then it was Austin Timmins, Kerry Pritchard and Harrison McLean.  Club President Ronald Purtle had a few words of encouragement and energy bars for Harrison at the race end.


“In C grade the 3 starters split on the ride over the first lap”

In C grade the 3 starters split on the ride over the first lap so all ended up riding the second lap alone.  Damien King rode well for 1st place ahead of Michael Parks and Geoff Fraser.  Michael was heard afterwards saying he must do more training.


“The best time was put in by Aaron with a 17.01minutes.”

The junior field had 4 new road riders out of 5 starters so the handicapper gave them a 10km time trial up and back on the Pound Creek Rd.  The best time was put in by Aaron Fraser with a 17.01minutes. Just behind was Grace McLean at 17.10, followed by Bernadette Fitzgerald at 17.31.  Then it was the younger riders of Thomas Fitzgerald in 18.45 and Oliver Mclean in 19.40sec.

The racing next weekend will be some handicap racing so riders will be able to ride with others of similar ability and that should assist in taking on the course.  For the limit riders they get the chance perhaps to tack onto a faster group toward the end of the race and enjoy a bunch ride to the finish.

report by Lindsay love

Place A grade 51Km Handicap Time Av. Speed
1 Thomas McFarlane 1hr 23min 40s 36.57
2 Ronald Purtle 1hr 23min 42s 36.56
3 Lachlan Mathews 1hr 24min 00s 36.43
4 Tony Clark 1hr 24min 05s 36.39
5 Chris Rowe 1hr 25min 48s 35.66
Place B grade 51Km Handicap Time Av. Speed
1 Will Lumby 1hr 27min 33s 34.95
2 David Supple 1hr 27min 37s 34.92
3 Rod Cheyne 1hr 27min 37s 34.92
4 Mark Bensley 1hr 28min 32s 34.56
5 David Lumby 1hr 29min 17s 34.27
6 Neil White 1hr 29min 17s 34.27
7 Steve Wilson 1hr 29min 17s 34.27
8 Gary Campbell 1hr 30min 59s 33.63
9 Austin Timmins 1hr 34min 22s 32.43
10 Kerry Pritchard 1hr 34min 22s 32.43
11 Harrison McLean 1hr 51min 01s 27.56
Place C grade 51Km Handicap Time Av. Speed
1 Damien King 1hr 43min 46s 29.49
2 Michael Park 1hr 52min 49s 27.12
3 Geoff Fraser 1hr 53min 28s 26.97
Place Junior ITT 8.8Km Handicap Time Av. Speed
1 Aaron Fraser 17min 01.7s 31.01
2 Grace McLean 17min 10.5s 30.74
3 Bernadette Fitzgerald 17min 31.6s 30.13
4 Thomas Fitzgerald 18min 45.0s 28.16
5 Oliver McLean 19min 40.4s 26.84


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.